Facebook Working on Snooze Feature for Friends

facebook-76536_960_720

Do you ever wish you could mute certain friends or followers on Facebook for a while and de-spam your Facebook feed?

Evidently someone at Facebook has been wishing for the exact same thing as the social media giant is currently testing a new Snooze feature designed to declutter your feed without permanently losing any connections.

The new feature takes the form of a snooze button which users can hit whenever they need some quiet time and a break from posts by specific friends, groups or pages.

The Snooze feature is offered as a temporary mute function as opposed to unfriending, unfollowing or leaving a group, which are obviously all permanent actions.

The new feature was first spotted by TechCrunch, who got in touch with Facebook to find out more about the new snooze feature.

A Facebook spokesperson told TechCrunch:

‘We are testing new ways to give people control over their News Feeds so they can stay connected with the stories they find most relevant.’

Users who click the Snooze button on a friend’s post, group or a page can mute said profile for 24 hours, seven days or 30 days.

Once testing is completed and Facebook begin the worldwide rollout, the Snooze feature will be located in the drop-down menu found in the top right corner of a user’s post, underneath the Hide post option and as part of the Unfollow option.

Facebook’s new Snooze feature is a clever idea and an attempt to give users some control over who and what populates their Facebook feed.

The company has been toying with a mute feature since the initial ‘See Less’ option debuted in 2012, but it now seems that Zuckerberg and Co. have finally found the right method for quietening chatty Facebook users without permanently unfriended them.

For the very best in computing, shop in-store or online.

Author Image

Posts from the Harvey Norman blog team.

You may also like...