Snapchat’s latest update brings with it a brand new feature that allows users to tag their geolocation and share it with other users within the app.
Named Snap Map, the new feature encourages users to share and view Snaps and Stories from across the world via geotagging, in addition to sharing their location with friends.
Speaking about the new feature in a blog post, Snapchat said:
‘We’ve built a whole new way to explore the world! See what’s happening, find your friends, and get inspired to go on an adventure! It’s easy to get started — just pinch to zoom out and view the Map! You decide if you want to share your location with friends, or simply keep it to yourself with Ghost Mode. If your friends are sharing their location with you, their Actionmoji will appear on the Map. Actionmojis only update when you open Snapchat.’
However, quite a few articles have since appeared online noting the privacy issues that may arise as a result of using Snap Map, namely the fact that the feature broadcasts users’ exact locations every time they open the app.
The concern here is the potential use of the feature for stalking in addition to the risks it poses to children who don’t understand the dangers of sharing their location with strangers.
It is possible to turn off Snap Map by selecting Ghost Mode in the Settings menu, but online commentators remain troubled by the lack of information about the feature.
Snap Map is accessed by pinching the main in-app camera screen, and is available for both the iOS and Android versions of Snapchat right now.
Check out the video below for a quick introduction to the new feature and what it offers.