Instagram Knows When You Take a Screenshot!

instagram-1474231_1920

The internet today nearly went into meltdown mode as stories emerged that Instagram might be notifying people if you screenshot their photos or videos on the content sharing site. So is this the end of days for creeping on your workplace crush or the last time your friend blindsides you with an embarrassing post?

Well relax, as this story has been widely misreported and has lead to misleading outraged reports. No, Instagram will not notify the poster if you screenshot their photos or stories, they will however notify them if you screenshot their message on Instagram Direct. This is a new private messaging service which lets you share pictures and videos.

Here’s a lively video introducing the feature.

 

Today we’re announcing two updates: live video on Instagram Stories and disappearing photos and videos for groups and friends in Instagram Direct. Now you can send disappearing photos and videos directly to groups and individual friends in a spontaneous, pressure-free way. Swipe right into the camera to take a photo or video, then tap the arrow to send it privately. You can choose a group or create one in just a few taps — and you can also send to individual friends at the same time. Send anything you want, from inside jokes to your worst selfies. Unlike other messages in Direct, these photos and videos disappear from your friends’ inboxes after they have seen them. And you’ll see if they replayed it or took a screenshot. To open your inbox, tap the new paper airplane icon at the top right corner of your feed or swipe left. You’ll see disappearing photos and videos in a bar at the top. Tap the ones with blue rings to see what your friends sent you. In a group, you can see everyone’s responses — and who else has seen them — in a slideshow format. Then when you’re done, just tap their faded profile photo to send a quick response. Disappearing photos and videos in Instagram Direct will start rolling out globally today. You can learn more about today’s updates at help.instagram.com.

A video posted by Instagram (@instagram) on

The app recently brought in private messaging which deletes after a period of 24 hours, something pretty similar to Snapchat, except you can view it as many times as you want until it expires. 

So don’t worry if you are 134 weeks deep on someones feed and hit screenshot without thinking, fear not as they will be none the wiser.

Instagram Direct messaging is available now. 

Author Image

Posts from the Harvey Norman blog team.

You may also like...